Best Funeral in the World

A composition in space made by and with all participants
For people aged from 1 to 99
UA 2015 DT-2 des Deutschen Theater Göttingen

Trailer hier

A farewell ritual? Perhaps a funeral? Why have all the flowers dried up? Is this a dance of death or a birthday celebration? We think it makes sense to try to come to terms with the fact that death is our constant companion, our dancing partner - while we are still alive. We rehearse this dance together. But who knows the steps? Do they go forwards or are they homeward bound? Have we prepared everything, packed and really thought of everything? Stop. Drink a sip. Take a deep breath. Put the bottle down. Breathe in and out - slowly. What do you hear? Does it sound as if we’re returning to the ground? Let’s toast to life and abandon ourselves completely to the music. Today is our birthday after all - the actual reason for our dying. Let’s celebrate a ritual together that we cannot resist repeating: Happy Birthday, Death!

“Of course, death is part of this farewell celebration. The musicians declare death to be their life-long dancing partner because it is always present. The audience members move with it in a circle, stamping rhythmically and forming a chorus of voices, which the instruments pick up on again and again. Because no word is spoken at this “best funeral in the world”, the audience members are all the more receptive, sensitive and aware of the echoes, not only of the music but of every movement and noise. The instruments swing from the ceiling like a musical still-life while the audience members can listen to themselves and ponder all the images and fantasies about life and death that they have been given at this farewell ceremony.” (Kulturbüro-Göttingen)

Director: Verena Ries
With QuartettPlus1: Kathrina Hülsmann (viola), Katharina Pfänder (violin), Lisa Stepf (cello),
Kristina van de Sand (violin)
Scenography and lighting: Sarah Ruppert
Costumes: Ann-Kathrin Blohmer

With music by Bryce Dessner (Aheym, 2009), Henry Purcell (Hush, no more (The Fairy Queen,1692) and John White (Drinking and Hooting Machine, 1968)

A Quartett PLUS 1/ Das ist erst der Anfang e.V. production in cooperation with the Deutsches Theater Göttingen. With support from the Stiftung Niedersachsen and the Nord LB. Awarded the Junge Ohren Preis in 2014 in the “LabOhr” category.


  • Foto Frank Stefan Kimmel
  • Foto Frank Stefan Kimmel
  • Foto Frank Stefan Kimmel
  • Foto Frank Stefan Kimmel
  • Foto Frank Stefan Kimmel
  • Foto Frank Stefan Kimmel

Die Beste Beerdigung der Welt

Eine Komposition im Raum von und mit allen Beteiligten
Für Menschen von 1 bis 99 Jahre
DT-2 des Deutschen Theater Göttingen, UA 8.12.2015

Gastpiel: Ab Donnerstag, 9. November 2017, 11:00 Uhr, theo Stadttheater Hildesheim
weitere Vorstellungen, 10./11./12.11.2017

Ein Abschiedsritual? Eine Bestattung vielleicht? Warum sind die Blumen vertrocknet? Ist das hier ein Totentanz oder doch eine Geburtstagsfeier? Sich zu Lebzeiten damit anzufreunden, dass der Tod unser ständiger Begleiter, unser Tanzpartner ist, finden wir eine gute Idee. Diesen Tanz üben wir gemeinsam ein. Aber wer kennt eigentlich die Tanzschritte? Geht’s vor- oder heimwärts? Haben wir alles vorbereitet, eingepackt und wirklich an alles gedacht? Stop. Trink' einen Schluck. Atme tief ein. Setz' die Flasche an und atme langsam und ruhig wieder aus. Was hörst du? Klingt es so wenn wir zu Erde werden? Stoßen wir auf das Leben an und übergeben wir uns ganz der Musik. Schließlich ist heute unser Geburtstag – der eigentliche Grund für unser Sterben. Feiern wir gemeinsam ein Ritual, dem wir nicht widerstehen können es zu wiederholen: Happy Birthday, Death!

"Der Tod spielt natürlich mit bei diesem Abschiedsfest. Ihn erklären die Musikerinnen zum lebenslangen Tanzpartner, weil er stets präsent ist. Mit ihm bewegen sich die Zuschauer im Kreis, stampfen rhythmisch auf und bilden einen Chor der Stimmen, den auch die Instrumente immer wieder aufnehmen. Weil auf dieser „besten Beerdigung der Welt“ kein Wort gesprochen wird, macht das die Zuschauer umso hellhöriger und berührbarer für die Echos, die nicht nur die Musik hinterlässt, sondern auch jede Bewegung und jedes Geräusch. Die Instrumente baumeln längst wieder von der Decke und wirken wie ein musikalisches Stillleben während die Zuschauer jetzt einfach in sich lauschen können mit all den Bildern und den Fantasien über das Leben und das Sterben, die sie bei diesem Abschiedsfest geschenkt bekommen haben." Kulturbüro-Göttingen

Presse Stimmen

Regie: Verena Ries
Mit QuartettPlus1: Kathrina Hülsmann (Viola), Katharina Pfänder (Violine), Lisa Stepf (Violoncello),
Kristina van de Sand (Violine)
Szenografie und Licht: Sarah Ruppert
Kostüm: Ann-Kathrin Blohmer

Mit Musik von Bryce Dessner (Aheym, 2009), Henry Purcell (Hush, aus The Fairy Queen,1692) und John White (Drinking and Hooting Machine, 1968)

Eine Produktion von Quartett PLUS 1/ Das ist erst der Anfang e.V. in Kooperation mit dem Deutschen Theater Göttingen. Gefördert durch die Stiftung Niedersachsen und die Nord LB, ausgezeichnet mit dem Junge Ohren Preis 2014 in der Kategorie „LabOhr“.


  • Foto Frank Stefan Kimmel
  • Foto Frank Stefan Kimmel
  • Foto Frank Stefan Kimmel
  • Foto Frank Stefan Kimmel
  • Foto Frank Stefan Kimmel
  • Foto Frank Stefan Kimmel